Crafts, Doctor Appointments, Ultrasounds

Overdue – 40 Weeks, 3 Days

Keegan is late… he must already be on Hedlund time!  To say I’m anxious is a major understatement.  Everything is painful at this point… rolling from side to side in bed, trying to get out of bed, and especially those first few steps walking to the bathroom in the middle of the night.  Mark is being pretty calm and relaxed about the whole thing, but I can tell he’s getting really anxious too.  I mean, we’ve been counting down to March 22, 2015 since we found out I was pregnant.  That’s a long time.  Aside from how miserable I feel, I just want him to be here so we can meet him, hold him, and take him home!  On top of that, I’ve spent so much time worrying about all the what-ifs, what if he has downs, what if he has a disorder they couldn’t see on an ultrasound, what if he’s missing toes?!?  Finally seeing him and holding him is the only thing that will give me some piece of mind.  However, I’m told that’s when the real worrying begins!  I’m already so worried about SIDS and all of the possible sicknesses going around right now (which reminds me… VACCINATE!), that I’m sure the worrying I’ve done during pregnancy is the least of it.  

 

I had what was my last scheduled prenatal appointment and ultrasound yesterday.  He still looks great on the ultrasound, so that’s good.  I’ve actually lost 5 pounds in the last two weeks, but she said that’s normal since Keegan is taking up so much space now.  I guess there’s not a lot of room for the stomach to fill up.  I was worried that it might mean he’s not growing, but she said since he’s getting perfect scores on all of his BPP ultrasounds, there’s no reason to worry.  My fluid level looks great, and he’s basically just comfy hanging out in there.  So, she scheduled me for an NST on Friday, a blood pressure check (my bp was a little high at 133/85, so they want to check it again just to be safe), and a cervix check.  At my appointment on Tuesday, the cervix check was terrible.  She messed around trying to see if she could help move labor along, but no sign of labor yet, 24 hours later.  I’m not going to sugar coat it – it hurt and was very uncomfortable.  But, I will do it again on Friday if it means I won’t have to be induced.  Right now, my induction is scheduled for Sunday night.  We go in at 7pm and start with a gel that will dialate the cervix, then Monday morning start the Pitocin.  I’d really like to avoid this route.  While I know there are tons of babies born every day being induced with Pitocin, I’d much rather have it be natural so I don’t have to worry about all of the side effects of Pitocin.  I’m guessing they’re rare, but still… just another thing to worry about.  So, cross your fingers for us and hopefully we have some good news soon!  I’m really hoping he stays a March baby, but who knows… an April Fool’s baby might be fun too!

 

To pass the time while I’m waiting to go in to labor, I did another crafting project I found on Pinterest.  I made some burp clothes using the extra fabric we had from the canvases and window cornices.  They’re nothing fancy, but I realized we only had four burp clothes, so I thought I’d make some more.  I made 10 total using 4 pieces of fabric and cloth diapers we picked up at Target.  Below are the four fabrics I used.  You can find the how to here

  

Standard

Leave a Reply

