Doctor Appointments, Ultrasounds

Ultrasounds and Appointments

We went in for our perinatal level 2 ultrasound on November 20 (pic below). Everything looked great. They were able to see everything they wanted, but did say the heart was still too small to see everything, which is normal. So, we get to back on December 22 for another level 2. It’s fun seeing the little guy squirm around! I still can’t help but be nervous every time we go in for an ultrasound, but I think I’m starting to relax a little more. I’m 24 ½ weeks now!

IMG_2666.JPG

Mark felt the little guy move for the first time on November 17. He was laying there with his hand on my belly and shot up with a shocked look on his face and said, “I felt it!” He couldn’t feel much then, but now he can feel him pretty often. I love feeling him move around. It’s still kind of crazy that there’s a baby moving around inside me. Sometimes he likes to punch me in my bladder, which makes me feel like I have to pee ALL THE TIME, but that’s ok.

We did have a little scare this weekend though. We had two Thanksgiving dinners – one at Mark’s family’s, one at my family’s. They went well, except, the turkey at my family’s dinner wasn’t cooked all the way. We saw that after we ate when we looked at the rest of the turkey. It was still red and in some spots bloody! AND, the turkey they cooked was a turkey they won over a year ago!!! Gross. Needless to say, a bunch of us got sick. I was sick for a few days, but luckily was only puking for eight hours (Saturday night into Sunday morning). On Sunday night I was so worried that something would happen to our baby because of the sickness. I was worried that Salmonella was automatically fatal to our son. I read everything I could find online (mistake). All of the articles talk about how terrible Salmonella (if that’s what I even had) is for a fetus, and I believe that, but none of the articles gave me any reassurance that he could be ok. So, I called the nurseline. They told me to just stay hydrated and drink Gatorade or another sports drink. Mark went and got me a few Powerades. He ended up getting sick Monday night after work, and was out all day Tuesday. Poor guy. I went to the doctor Monday morning for a normal prenatal check-up and told her about the incident. She told me not to worry, that if it was serious, I would still be sick and would not be moving around the way I was… I’d be in the hospital. I guess they don’t get too worried about it as long as you stay hydrated, which I made sure to do. The real issue with food poisoning I guess is if it gets into the blood stream, which she said she wouldn’t even test me for because I wasn’t sick enough to even consider it. So, I’m trying to relax and believe it really was just a short bug and will have no effect on our son.

Back to the fun news… we bought some baby stuff! Not a lot, because we want to wait until after the shower to really see what we still need, but we did get a few things. We bought a crib, a rug for the nursery, and some onesies (Old Navy had a 50% off sale, so I bought three cute ones). We had a 15% off coupon at Babies R Us, and opened a credit card to get an additional 25% off, so we got 40% off on the crib! I also had a 20% off coupon for the rug at Kohl’s (online), so I was able to order that. The nursery colors will be gray, white, navy, and green. Can’t wait to get it all put together!

Sorelle Princeton 4-in-1 Convertible Crib with Changer – Espresso
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3331892&cp=2255957.2273443.3252292.4379466&parentPage=family

Mohawk® Home Edison Chevron Rug
http://www.kohls.com/product/prd-2025948/Mohawk-Home-Edison-Chevron-Rug.jsp

We’ve also been talking a lot about his name. His middle name will be Jack, but we’re still undecided on his first name. We’re torn between two names at this point: Keagan Jack and Connor Jack. Good thing we have a few more months to decide!

Standard

Leave a Reply

