Doctor Appointments

Ultrasounds 2 and 3 Done!

I went to my second ultrasound on 8/13. I cannot begin to explain how nervous I was. After having a miscarriage last year, it’s hard for me to really be excited about getting pregnant this time. I just keep thinking that I’ll soon be told, sorry… you miscarried this one too. So stressful. So, I get to my appointment at 8:25 am (starts at 8:30). My husband couldn’t get out of work, so it was just me. I was texting him the entire time I was in the waiting room. The clinic was running 1/2 hour behind… great… more time to worry! So I finally get called back just before 9. I text him and said I was going in. The amazing nurse again told me right away. She said, “There’s the big baby!” Instant relief. The heart rate was fantastic at 171 bpm, and the little one was measuring 8 weeks 2 days. Because everything looked so “fantastic,” they told me I could go on to Park Nicollet for regular prenatal care. Yesss!!!

IMG_0118.JPG

My first appointment was scheduled for 8/21. This was supposed to just be a prenatal visit with my doctor, but the doctors are pretty booked, so they scheduled my first appointment with a CNM (midwife). Fine by me. I did email my doctor and ask if there was any way I could get another ultrasound the day of my appointment. Knowing what happened last time, she said that would be fine. So, I go to my ultrasound first. This time, I’m even more nervous. I actually cried on the way to the appointment I was so scared of hearing bad news. I think being back at the same clinic where I miscarried before made it worse. So, I go in and get positioned… ultrasound lady comes in and does her thing. She doesn’t say anything to me for the first 15 minutes. She was just looking around and taking measurements. Nerves are going nuts! Then she turns on the tv screen in the room and says, “Here’s your baby – the flicker is the heartbeat.” I mention that I think he/she doesn’t look as defined as he/she did at my last appointment and ask if everything is ok. She says, yep… that’s normal. That’s it. But, I know they’re not supposed to say much, if anything. A little reassurance wouldn’t hurt though. They weren’t able to print me a picture because the machine was out of ink… She did agree to mail me one though and even had me fill out an envelop with my info. I really hope she sends it. At this point, I don’t know what the heart rate is or the gestational age, so I wait another hour for my doctor appointment.

My doctor appointment goes great. She tells me all the details about the ultrasound and says everything looks wonderful. Heart rate is 176 bpm, and the baby is measuring at 9 weeks 4 days. Because everything looks so great, we are moved into the low risk category and don’t need to come back until 9/18. I’m not sure how I feel about that… I might see if I can come in for an ultrasound after we get back from vacation (week of Sept 8). Here’s hoping!

I was told to switch my prenatal vitamins from my delicious Target gummy vitamins, to the big vitamins that have iron (Nature Made Prenatal Multi). She said the Target ones are great, but don’t have any iron, so I should switch as soon as I was feeling better. I bought them right after the appointment. They’re huge and the iron has some interesting digestion side effects, but if it’s better for Baby, I’m in. Below is the vitamin I switched to. It has everything she recommended.

IMG_2306.JPG

IMG_2307.JPG

I’m still not ready to tell my family/friends. I’m not sure when I’ll be comfortable telling everyone. It still seems unbelievable to me… I guess I’ll just have to decide on the fly! We do have a cute announcement planned as long as we get that far, which I’ll post on her when we’re ready. So far only four people know (me, my husband, my sister, and my boss (needed to tell her since I had so many appts). I’m scared telling anyone else will jinx it…

Standard

Leave a Reply

