Uncategorized

Getting the News

Today was a pretty big news day for Mark and me.  This may be over-sharing but it will give you a little insight into my crazy way of thinking… so, I was pretty late on my period this month… by like a month.  I haven’t always had the most normal cycle, so I didn’t really think too much about it.  Until that last two weeks.  I started developing all these symptoms – what normal people would call pregnancy symptoms.  Would I call them that?  Of course not… especially not after Google confirmed for me that they were not pregnancy symptoms, they were clearly ovarian cancer symptoms.  Yep… that’s where my mind went this morning.  So, instead of calling the doctor like a normal woman and asking for a pregnancy test, I call and say, “I think I have cancer and need some tests.”  Luckily, they got me in today.  When I received the call the nurse, Melissa, told me they weren’t going to put me on anything to induce my period and that it would probably be a bad idea because I’m pregnant!  I literally yelled “WHAT??” into the phone… she laughed.  I think she could tell I was shocked, and on cloud nine.  My husband and I had great news like this once before… it ended in miscarriage at 10.5 weeks – devastating.  But, today is about the happy news, not the grief and sadness… I’m sure that will still peek out in future posts.

So, I’m trying to be optimistic.  This one will end in a happy, healthy baby.  But, I’m already anxious.  I’m going in for my first ultrasound next week to, as nurse Melissa said, “take a peek at the Bambino.”  Ha.  Love it.  This blog is meant to kind of put my pregnancy and motherhood (praying we make it that far) journey in writing.

I don’t really have much to report today my body feels disgusting, I have acne for the first time in my life, my boobs hurt more than I would have thought possible, and every 30 minutes I think I’m going to throw up.  Easily one of the best days of my life…  I look forward to sharing my story…





Standard

Leave a Reply

